Before I was myself, you made me…me

Journalist Sharon Raiford Bush with her mother, Myrtle Raiford, in 1958.

Before I was myself you made me, me…with love and patience, discipline and tears. Then, bit by bit, you stepped back to set me free. You have been my greatest inspiration because you allowed me to sail upon my sea, though well within the protective headlands of your fears.

But before I became myself, you made me, me.

With big dreams of what I was to be and hopes that would be sculpted by the years, bit by bit you stepped back to set me free. You relinquished your powers to allow me to shape myself.

But before I was myself you made me, me,

And being good and wise like dancers when the last sweet cadence nears, bit by bit you stepped back to set me free.  You gracefully stepped back to set me free.

You taught me that love inspires naturally. You showed me that the mind assents to whatever the heart reveres.  And so it was through LOVE that you made me, me — by slowly stepping back to set me free.

Thank you, Mom, for having faith in me and letting me be.

Thank you for giving me life, then setting me free.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

